Not Banned at the Maine DoE – ?

I’m not a fan of rhetorical questions, but this situation seems to warrant one. Yesterday I posted here that a comment I tried to make in response to the Maine Department of Education’s article, Preparing for A-F grading system, was banned. Afterwards, I received an email from the DoE spokesman, David Connerty-Marin, saying that I simply had not followed their posting policy. So, I tried again. As of 8:45 this morning, the comment had still not appeared online.

What was the policy I failed to follow? Using both my first and last names, not NancyEH (the computer fills that in by default). OK, that’s reasonable. And certainly my mistake.

However, in my defense, I will admit to a certain complacency on my part in expecting websites to be programmed to catch such user errors. The policy requires two names? Easy solution: provide two boxes. A bit more complicated, but common: a “Did you forget?” message.

Let’s see what the day brings.

UPDATE (4/10/13): My comment has been posted and I’ve received 2 emails and 1 Direct Message on Twitter from Mr. Connerty-Marin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

